Partners for a Healthy Nevada

Southern Nevada's Obesity Prevention Coalition

Formed in 2006, Partners for a Healthy Nevada (PHN) is Southern Nevada’s official obesity prevention coalition. The coalition offers networking, information sharing, and advocacy opportunities for all members as well as a chance to support community projects and activities that encourage physical activity and healthy eating. Membership is free and open to any organization or individual that has an interest in obesity prevention.

2017 Meeting Calendar

17 November

Obesity Prevention Coalition Meeting

Time: 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm

Southern Nevada Health District
280 S. Decatur Blvd. Las Vegas, NV 89107

For more information, contact

Nicole W. Bungum
bungum@snhd.org
(702) 759-1270

Partners for a Healthy Nevada

Community Impact

1. Community Outreach

Each year, Partners for a Healthy Nevada (PHN) participates in and supports at least one community event to share resources and information with and engage the community on obesity-related topics. PHN has also organized and sponsored educational presentations for public health professionals and the public on obesity-related topics.

2. Community Speakers Bureau

The purpose of the PHN Speakers Bureau is to provide education and outreach on the topics of nutrition, physical activity, and obesity. The Speakers Bureau includes a full directory of PHN members available to share their expertise with the community.

PHN speakers come from many different areas of professional expertise. Their presentations are available to community groups and organizations free of charge.

Please contact your desired speaker directly to schedule a presentation. Availability may vary, so it’s best to contact speakers at least one month in advance of your event. Speakers are available to address groups of 15 or more people

3. Advocacy Efforts

One of PHN’s primary goals is to “advocate for state, local, and national policy and environmental changes that support physical activity and healthy eating.” PHN and our members have been and are currently involved in a variety of advocacy efforts to make our community a healthier place to live. On occasion, PHN members form separate work groups to support specific obesity-related topics and issues including BMI data collection and school wellness. To see the current list of advocacy priorities, view the PHN Obesity White Paper or visit the Resources page.

Member Organizations

PHN membership is open to any individual or organization that has an interest in obesity prevention. Complete the PHN membership form and join the following partners in building a healthier community:

Speakers Bureau

Avila, Heather
Chief Operating Officer
Weight Watchers of Las Vegas, Inc.
3038S Durango Dr. #100, Las Vegas, NV 89117
702-432-6683 ext. 304
Heather.avila@wwlv.biz

Area of Expertise: Healthy Eating/ Obesity Prevention/ Behavior Modification


Barber, Brianna

Executive Director
YMCA of Southern Nevada
3521 North Durango Dr., Las Vegas, NV 89129
702-839-4900
bbarber@lasvegasymca.org

Area of Expertise: Health and Wellness, Aquatics, Youth & Family Programming, Senior Adult Wellness, Cancer Survivorship, Diabetes Prevention and Chronic Disease Management Programming


Blynn, Melissa

Executive Director
Create A Change Now
2251 N. Rampart Blvd., Ste. 347, Las Vegas, NV 89128
702-300-7399
Melissa@createachangenow.org

Area of Expertise: School gardens


Bosen, Darwin and Joyce, Founders, Trainers and Instructors

T.R.Y Trauma Recovery Yoga
702-727-7182 or 702-409-7903
joyce@traumarecoveryyoga.org or darwin@traumarecoveryyoga.org

Area of Expertise: Providing yoga-based somatic therapies to individuals who’ve suffered trauma or live in crisis to help alleviate the effects of trauma; Providing self-care workshops to help mitigate burnout and compassion fatigue and providing self-regulation training for health-care professionals, caregivers, and those providing social services.


Buffington, Aurora MS, RDN, LD

Faculty Instructor
University of Nevada, Cooperative Extension
8050 Paradise Road, Ste. 101, Las Vegas, NV 89123
702-257-5534
buffingtona@unce.unr.edu

Area of Expertise: Public Health Nutrition, Food Systems


Bungum, Nicole MS, CHES 

Supervisor
Southern Nevada Health District
Office of Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion
280 S. Decatur Blvd., Las Vegas, NV 89107
(702) 759-1270
bungum@snhd.org

Area of Expertise: Community Chronic Disease Prevention Programs

Bungum, Tim DrPH
Professor
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
School of Community Health
4505 Maryland Parkway, Box 453064, Las Vegas, NV 89154-3050
(702) 895-4986
tim.bungum@unlv.edu

Area of Expertise: Physical Activity Behavior and Determinants, Epidemiology


Byrne, Ciara

Co-CEO
Green Our Planet
6795 Edmond St., Las Vegas, NV 89118
702-624-8912
ciara@greenourplanet.org

Area of Expertise: School Gardens, STEAM Education

Cervantes, Marisa
Lutheran Social Services
73 Spectrum Blvd., Las Vegas, NV 89101
702-639-1730 ext. 11
marisa@lssnv.org

Area of Expertise: SNAP Outreach, Food Insecurity, Food Pantry


Enders, Jessica, RD

Children’s Heart Center
3006 S. Maryland Parkway, Ste. 515, Las Vegas, NV 89109
702-990-4834
jenders@childrensheartcenter.com

Area of Expertise: Childhood Obesity Prevention Programs; Cystic Fibrosis Nutrition


Haboush-Deloye, Amanda, PhD

Associate Director and Director of Programs for PCANV
UNLV Nevada Institute for Children’s Research and Policy
702-895-1040 (Main) 702-895-5908 (Direct)
amanda.haboush@unlv.edu

Area of Expertise: Childhood obesity, eating disorders, mental health, child abuse and neglect, child sexual abuse


Howell, Deborah

702-481-9763
Deborah@victoryinaction.com

Area of Expertise: Licensed Physical Therapist, health education, youth empowerment, healthy lifestyle education


Lindsay, Anne, PhD

Associate Professor
University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
8050 Paradise Rd., Suite 101, Las Vegas, NV 89123
702-940-5434
alindsay@unr.edu

Area of Expertise: Physical activity across the lifespan, Early childhood obesity prevention, health, weight, eating and body issues for young women, Substance abuse and health for women and young girls


Meacham, Mindy, BS, CHES

Health Educator II
Southern Nevada Health District
Office of Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion
280 S. Decatur Blvd., Las Vegas, NV 89107
702-759-1270
meacham@snhd.org

Area of Expertise: Community Physical Activity Programs


Schmauss, Ben, M.ED, MPH

Government Relations Director, Nevada
American Heart Association/American Stroke Association
4445 S. Jones Blvd., Suite B1, Las Vegas, NV 89103
(702) 367-1366
ben.schmauss@heart.org

Area of Expertise: Advocacy, Heart Disease & Stroke Issues, School Wellness


Scherr, Rebecca, MD

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
University of Nevada School of Medicine (UNSOM)
2012 W. Charleston Blvd. #402, Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
702-301-6164
rscherr@medicine.nevada.edu

Area of Expertise: Nutrition, Obesity, Pediatrics


Rucker, Will, MA

Chronic Disease Self-Management Leader, Tobacco Cessation Trainer, Life Coach
Winning With Will – Speaking and Coaching Services
248-388-0258
Will@winningwithwill.com

Area of Expertise: Body, Mind, Spirit Connection; Goal Setting and Planning, Mindfulness, Meditation, General Holistic Wellness, Smoking Cessation and Nicotine Dependence


Wiener, Valerie, MA, MA 

Former State Senator, Author
(702) 221-0068
vwiener@aol.com

Area of Expertise: Childhood Obesity Legislation and Policy, Advocacy, Communications